09 September 2014

All print and broadcast journalists from across Australia are invited to enter the 2014 Luminous Award, which recognises outstanding journalism in the field of oncology.

The Luminous Award honours journalists who serve the community by providing responsible, accurate and timely information on advances in cancer prevention, research, treatment and patient support. In 2014 the Luminous Award celebrates its 10th year of honouring excellence in cancer reporting.

This year the awards will again offer a cash prize of $5,000 for the winner and $1,000 for the runner up in each category:

  • Best Cancer Related Feature – Print 
  • Best Cancer Related Feature – Broadcast 

The Luminous Award is hosted by the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA) and proudly supported by Eli Lilly Australia.

The Luminous Award is judged by an independent panel represented by the following organisations:

  • Asbestos Diseases Society of Australia 
  • Australian Medical Writers Association 
  • Bowel Cancer Australia 
  • Brain Foundation 
  • Breast Cancer Network Australia 
  • Cancer Council Australia 
  • Clinical Oncology Society of Australia 
  • Leukaemia Foundation Australia 
  • Lung Foundation Australia 
  • Melanoma Patients Australia 
  • Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia 
  • Rare Cancers Australia 

Cancer is the leading cause of death in Australia, with more than 42,000 people dying from cancer each year (according to the latest AIHW statistics published in 2013). The good news is that we are seeing important advances in treatment, prevention and patient care. The Luminous Award recognises those who help raise awareness, provide accurate and balanced information and keep consumers informed about these potentially lifesaving advances. With the enormous burden cancer places on the Australian community we want to acknowledge the vital role of journalists in keeping the public informed.

The Award program is open to all practising Australian journalists who have had an article published or broadcast between January 2013 and June 2014.

The winners will be announced at the Welcome Function of the COSA Annual Scientific Meeting in Melbourne, Tuesday 2 December 2014.

Nominations for the 2014 Awards close at 5.00pm (AEST) Thursday 2 October 2014.

For more information and nomination details please visit the COSA website ( www.cosa.org.au ) or email COSA at cosa@cancer.org.au.

Click here to download nomination form.


Clinical -oncology -society -of -australia -logo -200x 151Lilly